Florida Law Restricts Sale of Dextromethorphan to Adults.

A bill that prohibits a manufacturer, distributor, or retailer from selling a dextromethorphan product to a person younger than 18 years of age was signed into law by Florida Governor Rick Scott. An employee who sells a dextromethorphan product to a person younger than 18 years of age without a prescription is subject to a written warning for an initial violation, and civil fines may be imposed for subsequent violations. Under the law (Senate Bill 938), proof of age is required from the purchaser if the individual is presumed to be under 25 years of age. The law takes effect January 1, 2017.